105 GOVERNMENT

approval. Normally the Commissioner obtains federal approval of proposed legislation and budgetary measures before submitting them to Council.

The Council of the Northwest Territories consists of 15 elected members and has a life of four years. It meets at least twice a year, usually for three weeks at a January session and two weeks at a spring session, but more often if required. A Clerk of Council and a legal adviser

provide the main administrative assistance and debates are recorded verbatim.

The Northwest Territories Act gives the Territorial Council authority to legislate in most areas of government activity except for natural resources other than game; these are reserved to the federal government. Legislation must receive three readings and have the assent of the Commissioner. The federal government may disallow any ordinance within one year. The Commissioner proposes most legislation but private members' bills are allowed, except for money matters, which are the prerogative of the Commissioner. Besides draft legislation, the Council gives considerable time to policy papers in which the Commissioner asks for advice or

seeks authority to take a particular course of action.

Parliament approved significant legislation in 1974 for the political development of the Northwest Territories. Amendments to the Northwest Territories Act increased the number of elected members of the Territorial Council from 10 to 15 and eliminated appointed members. Elections were held in March 1975 for the first entirely elected Council. The new Council selects its speaker from among its members; previously the Commissioner was the presiding officer. Council also nominates two other members to sit on the Executive Committee along with the Commissioner, who is chairman, the Deputy Commissioner and an Assistant Commissioner. This committee is to advise the Commissioner on broad policy matters and to act as a consultative body for him.

The Minister of Justice is the Attorney General of the Northwest Territories under the Criminal Code of Canada, with responsibility for criminal but not for civil matters or the constitution or organization of the courts (see Chapter 2). Law enforcement is provided by the

Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

Administration. In 1963 a full-time Commissioner was appointed and charged with building up a territorial administration located initially in Ottawa. In September 1967 the Commissioner and about 50 staff members moved to Yellowknife and assumed responsibility for the game management service, municipal affairs, the issuing of all licences, tax collection and the operation of the liquor system (already staffed by territorial contract employees). Operational responsibility for other government services was transferred from federal to territorial control in the Mackenzie District on April 1, 1969, and in the Eastern Arctic on April 1, 1970. The territorial government is structured to carry out its administration through four program and four service departments, each under the direction of a senior public servant reporting to one member of the Executive which consists of the Commissioner, the Deputy Commissioner and two Assistant Commissioners. The field staff is organized into four regions with regional directors at Fort Smith, Inuvik and Frobisher Bay and a district service officer at Rankin Inlet.

Continuing federal responsibility. The Government Organization Act charges the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development with responsibility for the development of the North and for the general co-ordination of federal activities in the area. Other federal government agencies, such as the Northern Health Service of the Department of National Health and Welfare and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, are responsible for health and police services with the territorial government sharing their costs. The Ministry of Transport operates mainline airports throughout the whole of the North; the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation provides special shortwave northern broadcasts and maintains local stations in the Territories. Federal cost-shared national assistance programs, within the competence of the territorial government, are available to it on the same conditions as they are to the provinces.

Extensive financial assistance is given to the territorial government under special federalterritorial agreements, which usually cover a period of five years. These agreements allocate the financial responsibility of each government for the provision of services in the Territories and fix the amount of the federal financial payments to the territorial government for the life of the agreement. At present territorial revenues fall short of meeting the expenditures of the territorial government. Under the financial agreements, all taxes on personal and corporate incomes, corporation taxes and succession duties are reserved to the federal government.

Excluding amortization of borrowings, the territorial government, during the year ended